clarita_web.jpgSr. Clarita Anneken Memorial Scholarship

Sr. Clarita Anneken, OSB was a beloved teacher at Villa Madonna Academy. It was her dream to one day have Villa provide a full tuition scholarship to a deserving student, just like she had received many years ago. In a letter to Jack Challis '00, one of her former students, Sr. Clarita shared, “I was able to come to the Villa in 1932, in the midst of the Great Depression, only because the convent administration started a prep school that year for young girls who wished to become nuns. There were five who came; two persevered. Our special tuition was $75 a year! We did do some work cleaning classrooms and washing the boarders’ supper dishes. I am forever grateful for the education I received at VMA. That’s why I would be very happy for some deserving, but not wealthy, student to have the same privilege.”

Sr. Clarita had an impact on Jack Challis, as she did on so many others. That is why he has worked with Villa to establish the Sr. Clarita Anneken Memorial Scholarship. The goal is to raise $200,000 so that a full tuition scholarship can be awarded and and Sr. Clarita's request can be honored. While the fund grows, Villa may award a small scholarship annually from a portion of the interest generated. Even though it will not be a full tuition scholarship, a student will have the privilege of being helped in the name of Sr. Clarita in the near future.

To learn more, please watch this video. 

To contribute, please send your gift to Villa Madonna Academy, Advancement Office, 2500 Amsterdam Road, Villa Hills, KY 41017 or contact the Advancement Office at (859) 331-6333 x132. Make checks payable to Villa Madonna Academy and note Sr. Clarita in the memo line.

Check back often and watch the fund grow!

Thank you to our donors!
Our total is now at $11,550.

Jack Challis '00
Ellen Foltz Collete '75
Julie Schaefer Enzweiler '93
Laura Haskamp 
Holly Hirt '04
Melissa Otten Howard '72
Kathy Gettelfinger Manning '72
Stephen & Jane Meier '69
Mary Jo & Rick Rechtin
Mildred & Charles Ruprecht
Theresa Tran '88
Christine Yarmuth '60
Debbie & Jim Young